“You know, when I was little, I always thought that one day I would wake up and I would know what I want to do with my life. That one day I would just find that one thing I would be so passionate about, I just would not be able to let it go.”
“Well some people have those kinds of moments I guess.”, he answered.
“Yeah, but you know, I never had that. I never found anything I was passionate about. I never found my thing.”, I insisted.
“So you don’t have one thing that you love more than anything else. That doesn’t mean you don’t have passion. You are one of the most passionate people I know.”
“Really?”, I was not convinced, “Name one thing I am truly passionate about?”
“Are you kidding me? You are passionate about so many things: learning, reading, writing, helping other people, doing well. And those are just to name a few.”
“Yes, I guess you could say that I am passionate about those things, but you know it’s never that all consuming passion that tells you exactly what you should be doing with your life.”
“Some people have that, yes.”, he said, “But you are just more complex than that. You are passionate about so many things, you are not just defined by the one thing you can and want to do. You are a little different and that’s amazing. If anything, it just makes you so much more interesting.”

-B.

