Hey guys,

So a while back, I saw this video going around on BookTube where people talked about what reading meant to them or their story as a reader, so I thought I’d tell you about my own experiences with reading since it is such a big and important part of my life. I am going to do this in two parts. This first part is books that are/were really important to me and the second part is going to be more about why I read and my love for it.

So I guess I’ll start with my first love. My first book love that is. The first book(s) I truly fell in love with and that I could not get enough of were the Five Friends books by Enid Blyton. When I was smaller, those were some of the only books my local library had for me an dI just loved them. I got through them so quickly, listened to them on audio books… They are just great.

The next series that was very important to me was the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage. I was not into Harry Potter when I was younger (mostly because my brother absolutely loved it) and so those were the books that inspired my love of fantasy.

And then of course I read many, many books, of course including the books everyone else read at the time such as Percy Jackson and The Hunger Games. But I want to talk about the first books I read in English. Because if you did not know, my first language is German, so of course, when I was little and did not know English as well, I read books in German. But then came books like Divergent, which I picked up in English and upon discovering the endless choice of YA books I had available to me in English, I did not go back and I now pretty much exclusively read novels in English.

One example is the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. This, to this day, is one of my absolute favourite series. I just love the writing, I love the plot, the characters, just everything about it. And so these books should definitely be credited for my love of English books.

And then came The Mortal Instruments and in general the Shadowhunter books by Cassandra Clare. I read those books when I was really sick, lying in bed, having nothing else to do. So when I finished them, I did what anyone else in my situation would do and found videos about these books online. And that’s how I found and fell in love with BookTube. I mean a whole online community dedicated to talking about books? Absolute perfection. And somehow watching all these videos and reading some blogs inspired me to create this blog. So these books not only helped me through a really rough time, they also made me discover a whole new community and a way to express myself.

And then of course came loads of books that I saw on YouTube and fell in love with: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Voliltion by Lily Paradis (all amazing books that you should definitely check out btw!) and so so many more.

The last thing I am going to talk about is what got me into reading classics, which I also really love. This pretty much happened when I was in Ireland and I discovered both through my friends and school that English classics are a lot easier to read than Austrian ones, so I worked my way through a lot of them. Here are just some that I really like: Of Mice and Men, Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, Great Expectations, The Picture of Dorian Gray (also definitely check them out!)

So, that’s it for part one. Hope you enjoyed it and you maybe got some inspiration for books to read from it. Tell me about some books that you love or that were really important to you in the comments. I’d love to know. 

See you soon,

-B.

