Hey guys,

so obviously the holidays are coming up (or you might already be on vacation, like me the day after this is posted, yay!) and obviously there is nothing better to do when you have some time off to chill than to binge watch a bunch of TV shows, so I thought I’d give you a list of some of my favourite shows ever, in case you are stuck for new ones to watch, or you already love these and want to fangirl about them with someone. (btw these are in no particular order, except for Gilmore Girls, which will always be my number one) Also I’m not really giving you a synopsis or anything, I’m just trying to tell you why you should check them out:

  • Gilmore Girls:
    This is just THE best show ever mad. Honestly. The cast is amazing. The story is amazing. There is really fast talking, a lot of coffee, a lot of food, cute boys, family drama, a small town, seasons, a girl who loves reading and more pop culture references than you will ever be able to understand and great writing. Just everything you want in a show. I cannot tell you enough how much you should watch it, because it’s just incredible. There are 7 seasons of this show and there is a Netflix reboot coming out on the 25th of November (this will already have happened when I post this, but I won’t have seen it because I promised to watch it with my sister when I am home *cry*). For me, watching and rewatching this show just feels like home. I really improved my English through it and I just love it. Oh and by the way: Team Jess!!!
  • New Girl:
    Just a really good show to watch if you need a laugh and a 20 minute break from life. I love all the characters and I just really like it. Check it out if you want something light-hearted and funny.
  • The Flash:
    Ok so I know a lot of people think that superhero shows are kind of stupid, but I honestly really recommend this one. It’s really funny at times, but can also be heart wrenching and really exciting. Just a really good one.
  • Sherlock:
    Really good one to binge watch as there are only like 10 episodes I think. Really, really good cast with Benedict Cumberbatch in the lead and honestly incredible writers. It’s Sherlock Holmes in modern times and it’s just amazingly done.
  • Lucifer:
    This is a show I just recently discovered and it’s honestly amazing. It’s basically the real devil coming to earth, causing mischief and solving crimes. I know it sounds really weird, but it’s honestly really, really good. The show is on its second season right now and I think the first one is on Amazon Prime (at least where I live). Also it’s unexpectedly funny, especially if you like sarcastic humour.
  • O.C. California:
    The O.C. is kind of a classic for me. It just makes me feel good. I fucking love Seth (played by Adam Brody) and yeah it’s just some good old teenage drama, if you are into that.
  • Friends:
    I actually only watched this like last year and I (like everybody else) love it. I mean it’s Friends. Need I say more?
  • The Good Wife:
    This is a lawyer show and ever since I started watching Suits (mentioned below) I’ve been in love with them. This one has one of the strongest women ever as the lead character and one of the actors in Gilmore Girls in another role. I watched the whole thing this past summer and I don’t regret a minute of it.
  • Lovesick:
    I randomly discovered this show on Netflix one day and I absolutely love it. This is a British comedy show about a guy who has chlamydia and has to talk to all his ex-girlfriends. It’s just hilarious. Trust me.
  • Life Unexpected:
    This is one of my favourite shows ever and I feel like not that many people know it. It’s about a 16 year old in the foster system who goes back to her biological parents. It’s interesting, funny, sad and everything in-between. There are two seasons they are on Netflix in the U.K. and Austria, not sure about all other countries.

Honorable mentions (basically shows I really like but that I haven’t watched in a while for whatever reason or ones that just didn’t quite make it on the list):

  • Malcolm in the Middle
  • Baby Daddy
  • Young & Hungry
  • How I Met Your Mother
  • Vampire Diaries
  • Teen Wolf
  • The Fosters (this will definitely make you cry)
  • Shameless (U.S.) (would not recommend for young children or if you are not into swearing, but other than that, go for it)
  • Downton Abbey (the best period drama ever)
  • Shadowhunters (Being optimistic here that the second season will be better than the first!)
  • Elementary (also Sherlock Holmes, but a little different)
  • Suits (lawyer show with a bit of drama)
  • Gossip Girl
  • Marvels Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (sort of secret agents meets superheroes meets really funny characters)
  • Jane the Virgin (funny, you learn a bit of Spanish, good to relax)
  • Navy CIS L.A (One of my favourite crime shows ever.)
  • Hart of Dixie (Seriously good.)

 

Ok, that’s it. Hope this helped you if you were looking for what to watch next. If you want to chat about any of these shows, I’d love to do that as well. And if you have any recommendations for me, I’d love to check them out, because I’m always looking for new shows.

-B.

 

 

