Social media. I have kind of a love-hate relationship with social media. On the one hand, I, like everybody else, love it. I love to use it to distract myself or when I’m bored. I love to use it to stay in contact with people who live far away from me. I love to use it to share my thoughts and opinions and photos and writing. Heck, I am using it right now.

But then, on the other hand, social media kind of makes me anxious. Being on it too much,  seeing what everybody else chooses to share with me, it makes me feel nervous and sometimes it makes me feel down about myself, self conscious and and just overall bad.

Seeing all the negativity on social media, it makes me feel like there is no hope for humanity sometimes (not as much as certain recent political events, but still) and it makes me wonder about how much free time some people must have to be honest.

I understand the good sides about it. But sometimes I have to take a break from social media. I only use a few platforms in general. I am on Facebook, but solely to use the messenger, I am on Tumblr but don’t use it all that much, I am on Snapchat and I am on here. And even that sometimes gets way too much for me. I get overwhelmed with everything on it, I regret ever signing up, ever posting anything, ever even thinking that it was a good idea and need to step away from it.

I love that social media gives people like me an opportunity to share their creative work with others but sometimes things get too much and I need to take a break for a few months.


So that’s what I think. What do you think about social media? Let me know. Would love to discuss this topic with you guys!

-B.

