Hey guys, so I know I haven’t posted in ages, but whenever I have time now, I will try to post on this blog a little more regularly. For right now though, I want to talk about organisation and time management.

I am in my second year of the IB Diploma Program right now and anyone who has heard about it or has gone through it themeselves knows, it’s a lot of stress. There is so much course work to be done, so many things to be revised, so many deadlines to be met. And for the most part, I think I’m coping with it quite well (at least so far). I am pretty well organized and don’t usually get too stressed out because of it, so I thought I’d just share some things that I have found to work for me in terms of organisation, time management and keeping stress to a minimum. These things might not work for you, they are just my own suggestions and please leave any other tips in the comments for me and others to try out as well.

  1. To Do Lists: I know, this seems kind of obvious, but To Do Lists are a life saver. Not only does ticking of a task give you immense satisfaction, but writing a to do list also gives you an overview of what you have to do and keeps you from panicking too much.
  2. Spread out tasks: If you have a big task to do, like writing a big essay or project or you have to revise a lot of content, don’t try to do it all in one day. Spread it out over a couple of days and be realistic about what you can achieve in one day when planning, so you don’t get discouraged about not meeting your goals.
  3. Plan ahead: This is so important, especially if you are juggling a lot of different deadlines and tasks at ones as I am. Everybody does this differently, but I personally have a plan of the whole term with all my deadlines and stuff like that and a to do list that tells me what I have to do that day and what I have to do at some time this week and month, which I update every day, right when I come home.
  4. Prioritise: This kind of goes hand in hand with your to do list, but think about what is the most important, what has to be done today and what can wait for a bit.
  5. Focus: When you are doing a task, actually focus on the task. Switch of your phone, put in headphones, do whatever ever you need to do to eliminate all distractions. I often hear people say that tasks that I took 15 minutes for took them several hours and most of the time, it is because when they say they are working, they aren’t actually for the majority of the time.
  6. Take breaks: Nobody can concentrate for 5 hours straight! Take a break at least every one or two hours. Otherwise you are just wasting time being unfocused, tired and frustrated.
  7. Do not sacrifice sleep: I see so many of my classmates do this and then fall asleep in class or not get anything done during the day. Plan ahead, then you won’t have to do an all-nighter and you will be able to do your best work.
  8. Take care of yourself: Do whatever it is you need to do to relax after you are done with work for the day. I for example do yoga, drink a cup of tea, watch a video, write or read. And I do at least two of these things every day. It honestly helps so much with recharging and just getting your brain off of work for a second. It’s worth the time.
  9. Don’t get discouraged/confused by others: If anybody else is doing things differently than you, if they are faster or slower, just ignore them. Do things your own way. Study your own way and don’t let others tell you how to get there as long as you get there.
  10. Accept help and ask questions: I know this one can be a little tricky, because I am shy myself. But if you don’t understand something, ask. Don’t waste time trying to figure it out. And if you don’t want to talk to your teacher, just ask other students, they’ll either tell you or most likely help you find out what it’s all about. And when someone offers to help you, take it. They offered, you are not bothering them!!!!
  11. Don’t forget to have fun: With all the hectic going on, a lot of people cut out fun completely, but try not to do that. Try to do something fun, like going out with your friends (even if it’s just to a cafe to study) at least once every week.

So, these are some of the things I have found work for me. If you’d like to see more of these kinds of posts about any kind of topic, just let me know below and I’d be happy to do them.

See you soon (hopefully)

-B.

