If I wouldn’t have gone to England, if I had never been bullied, if I had just held on for one more year, I would have graduated today. Today would have been the day when all the exams, all the stress and all the worry would have been over. Today would have been my last day of school ever. I would have gone to university this fall.
And today, because life happened as it did and I did not graduate today, I went to school, like any other day, like I will for another year. And it was horrible. I felt like I had missed out on something, like the people I escaped from when I came to England did not only steal enjoyable experiences from me, but also a whole year of my life. Everything in my life is being postponed back for a year. I wasted a year on them. A whole 12 months I will never get back.
But I’m writing this to remind myself that if things did not happen as they did, I would have never met all the friends I have now. I would never be able to speak English as well as I do. I probably would not write or take pictures. I would not have read nearly as many books, or possess as much knowledge as I do now. And I would under no circumstances have all the opportunities I have now, looking at some of the best universities in the world and them being realistic options of where I am going to end up.
So I guess this is to remind myself and anybody else out there who needs it, that sometimes things don’t work out as planned. And sometimes you take a little longer to get where you want to go. But that’s okay. You make invaluable experiences on your way and they make you who you are. So take your own path, take as long as you need and don’t look back.

Now all I have to do is take my own advice – the hardest thing of all.

-B.

