Relationships. They are funny things. And just to be clear I do mean relationships in a romantic kind of way. The thing is, I am a seventeen year old girl and I’m single. In fact I have never actually not been single. And like most seventeen year old, single girls. I want to be in a relationship.

But I think the difference between me and some of those other girls is that I don’t want to have a boyfriend just to have one. I don’t want to be together for a really short period of time and then just break up. I don’t want drama and I certainly do not want games.
I want someone I can rely on and someone who can rely on me. Someone who’ll be there for me when I need it and someone I can be there for as well. I want the give and take as well as the romance and the security. I want the  real thing. I want what I know my parents have and my aunt has, what some of my friends have and what so many other people wish they could have too.
Now, don’t get me wrong. I know I’m seventeen and I know that I don’t really know anything about, well, anything really. And some of you might say that I’m young, that I should just have fun. But that’s not what I am about. My life has been hard. I have been through more than most thirty year olds have and I don’t want to put myself out there, possibly get hurt, just for it to be over after two weeks. If I’m going to do that, I need to know that he wants what I want and that maybe, just maybe, it could work out, even just for a little while.


So that’s what I think about at half past 8. In case you were wondering.

-B.

 

