Here’s the thing: I wasn’t exactly what you would call a hopeless romantic. I didn’t believe in love at first sight, being swept off my feet or marriage for that matter.
And no, this is not me telling you about the boy who changed all of that. Come on, give me a break! This is the story of how I became happy.

So it all began when I decided to leave my old live behind and go to a boarding school in England. I know what you are thinking: castle, rain, magic, school uniforms and Harry Potter. But it wasn’t like that at all. Okay, the boarding school, Refna Academy, does kind of look like a castle and yes, when I first arrived it was indeed raining, but there was absolutely nothing supernatural going on and there are also no school uniforms.
But anyways, it was the first of September when I arrived at school. My parents were with me, insisting to drop me off, although Refna was four hours away from where we lived.

“It’s going to be better, great even, you’ll see.”, my dad whispered into my ear before getting back into the car, not even bothering to go to my room with me.
“I’ll miss you, honey. Have fun.”, my mum said before giving me one last hug and leaving me in my empty dorm room.
And these first thirty minutes in-between my mum leaving and my roommate Kat arriving, were the first and only time I ever felt alone at Refna.


 

This is the first part of a story I started writing spontaneously. I don’t really know where it is going yet, but I guess we’ll see. Hope you liked it so far. If you have any ideas or tips, please leave a comment below.

-B.

