Hey guys,

post number 7 in this series! Loving this project so far. I hope you are too. This prompt sparked my interest by its simplicity. Very interesting. By the way, if you have written anything using the same prompts or any prompts really, please send them to me or comment with a link to your blog down below. I’d love to read it.


The Prompt: Honesty (Source: 642 things to write about)


Here’s what I came up with:

Honesty is weird. We all want others to be honest with us. We don’t want anybody to lie to us. Yet we don’t really want to know what they are thinking most of the time. We want them to agree with us, we want them to be nice, even if what they are really thinking is different from what we want to hear. We don’t want to hear the truth. Not really.
We want everybody to be honest, yet we find it so difficult to be honest ourselves. We find telling the truth too painful sometimes. We can’t possibly tell that truth, our truth, to someone else.
Sometimes we can’t even be honest with ourselves. Sometimes we lie to ourselves because we think that it will protect us from getting hurt-it won’t. Because at some point the truth always comes out, no matter how hard we try to hide it. There is no avoiding it, yet we still try every time. Although telling the truth from the beginning could save us from so much heartache.
Of course I could now say that we should always tell the truth. I won’t, for always telling the truth to everybody is simply impossible. It’s not in our nature.
What I will say however is that we should always try to recognise when we are withholding the truth, when we were being dishonest. For that is the biggest mistake of all. Believing our own lies. Not noticing when we are lying to ourselves.
So go out there and be as dishonest as you like. Lie to every person you know including yourself for all I care, but just know that you are doing it.


That’s all. This is another one of these rambling posts. I hope you like them. I enjoy writing them since I have to think about the topics a lot, but I’ll try writing poems and scenes more often in the future since these are more of a challenge for me. Also, it would really help if you could tell me what kinds of posts you prefer since I’m working on a posting schedule right now.
See you soon!

-B.

 

 

