Hey guys,

this is post 6 in my month of writing prompts series. I am still 3 posts behind on schedule, but I hope that that will change soon enough.
I also have a lot of other posts coming up soon, so look out out for those.
This one’s kind of personal: Hope you like it.
But enough rambling, here you go:


The Prompt: How you feel about love these days (Source: 642 things to write about)


Here’s what I came up with:

Love. Such a simple word for such a complex thing. When most people hear that word, they only think of romantic love, of their boyfriends, girlfriends, husbands, wives.
But really, there are a lot of different types of love. There is the love you have for family, the love you have for friends, pets, materialistic things. And then there is passion, which if you think about it, is also a type of love. It can be for a thing, a cause, an activity, a person. But it’s different from the classical definition of love.
I don’t want to talk about passion though. That’s a whole different topic, although it’s related. I want to talk about love. And some of you might say that I am too young to know what love really is and you might even be right in some regards. Romantic love for instance is not something I’d call my area of expertise.
Love for my family and friends on the other hand, I know. I know what it’s like to feel it for others. I know what it’s like to receive it. I know what it’s like to lose it. And I know what it’s like to not feel the same way about people as they do about me. That’s all there is really. It’s beautiful, yet it can become ugly so fast. It’s the best feeling in the world and the worst you will ever experience. It’s the thing we want the most and what makes us afraid to wake up everyday.
Love. We all want to receive it. We all want to feel it for others. We never want to hear that word again, yet yearn to hear it out of the right person’s mouth.
Yes, I’d say I’m loved. I have family and friends. But I don’t think anybody loves me in a romantic way. I, at least, don’t love anybody that way. And I also know why. I have my guard up. Always. I’ve been hurt so many times. Yes, I let people in. Slowly. It’s hard. But the thing I’m not yet ready for is letting people in, in into my heart, in that one particular way. And I want to. I really do. I want to experience what it is like. I want to rely on someone in that way. I want to feel about someone in that way. But it’s hard. I am scared, still healing, trying.
Just know, believe, that one day I will. One day you will.One day we will all be ready. Ready to love and be loved. Healed. Because even if it’s dark right now, the sun will come up.


Um yeah, that’s all I came up with. I don’t know hoe I got where I got, but yeah, whatever. I’m not sure what to think about it though…
Anyways, see you later!

-B.

 

 

