Hey guys,

so I’ve been in England for about two weeks now, I’ve started school, I’ve made friends and all of that. So I thought that I would just kind of tell you what’s happened so far:

Well so I arrived at the airport in London and somebody was supposed to pick me up and drive me to my host family’s house (I live with a host family btw, don’t know if I’ve mentioned that before), but the driver didn’t show and I didn’t know what to do since I didn’t have a phone number or anything like that. So I called my mum. And then she called somebody who called somebody and so on. And long story short: I got to my host family in the south of England four hours late. That wasn’t really much of a problem, it was just really stressful.

My host family is quite nice, but living with them is more like living in a B&B of sorts. Kind of like I’m renting a room in their house and getting breakfast and dinner from them. I also live with another student who goes to my school. She’s from Kazakhstan and we get along ok. There are a few things that annoy me but I really like her otherwise so it’s fine. I was also supposed to live with a room mate from Mexico but she hasn’t arrived yet, so I can’t tell you anything about her.

For the first week I was all alone in the host family though because the girl from Kazakhstan came here with her mum and stayed in her hotel. I was really lonely and quite homesick for that week, but now that I’ve met more people and I’m starting to get into a routine it’s a lot better.

School is really good so far. I like my subjects. I like my teachers and I like the other students. I can already tell that the IB is going to be a lot of work, but I honestly don’t mind that as much. I love learning new things and as long as I can do that I’m fine with a big workload.

I think that’s all for now. I don’t know how often I’ll get to post but I hope that it will be fairly frequently. I haven’t read or written anything that wasn’t for school since I came here, because I’ve been so preoccupied with figuring things out, but it should be better from now on. Or at least I hope that it will.

-B.

